01792 771728
Swansea Indoor Bowls Club logo

About Us


Mr Alun Jones - Interim Chair

Mrs Lynda James - Vice Chair

Mr Phil Jones - Secretary

Mr Phill Abbott/Mr Rob Thomas - Treasurer

Mr Denny James - Fixture Secretary


Mrs Caryl Watkin - Stadium Manager

Mr Ian Thomas - Evening Duty Steward

Mr Neil Bowden - Weekend Duty Steward

Ms Andrea Thomas - Steward

If you have any questions or queries then feel free to contact us using the online contact form.



Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Policy

Swansea Indoor Bowls Club was founded in 1976 at a well attended meeting held at the YMCA. The members present contributed £1 each to form the Indoor Bowls Club, which eventually boasted 1,000 members.

The Steering Committee, which was established at the meeting, consisted of :

Trevor Toms; Dyfrig Palmer; Betty Lewis; Gil Graddon; George Taylor, Ken Pritchard; Laidlow Murray and Eddie Tucker (Secretary). Geoff Davies later joined and was appointed Treasurer.

Home for the Club's indoor green was Swansea Leisure Centre which had been opened by Her Majesty the Queen in the summer of 1976. The first competitive game was held there during the 1977 season, which also saw the formation of the Ladies Section.

During the intervening years, Swansea boasted a truly excellent playing record, supplying many international players to represent Wales in the British Isles Championships at all levels (Over 50s, Seniors and Juniors) not to mention Welsh Championship winners in the singles, pairs, triples and fours. A tradition which continues to this day.

The closure of Swansea Leisure Centre in 2003 resulted in the Swansea bowlers taking refuge at the nearby Earlswood Bowls Club until such time as the new Stadium at Landore, funded by the City & County of Swansea Council, was opened for business in March 2008.

In November 2014 the club became a Not For Profit Public Limited Company in order to facilitate a lease agreement for the Stadium. In 2015 a lease was negotiated with the City & County of Swansea and the club took over full responsibility for the stadium.

Ciaoweb logo